resistance is futile

Obedience and surrender are two of the hardest things we as humans battle each day. In a million little ways we fight for our voices to be heard, for things to go our way, for things to be done our way.

Whether it’s an employer or a spouse the battle is real. A company policy may include not using cell phones unless on break or lunch, yet how many people are walking around using them?

When challenged the employees may say, “I was just using it to look up something for work, ” while a computer screen sits in front of them. Or the age-old, “So-and-so is using their phone to do such-and-such, at least I am not doing that.”

In our very DNA is the “resistance gene” to follow the black and white rules. We, as humans, are always looking for the “wiggle” spot that means we don’t have to follow all of the rules or policies.

When I married my husband 19 years ago, I know obey was not part of the vows, but a euphemistic word was used in its place. Today, I still find myself struggling with obedience to my husband.

I resist it all the time.

We resist the speed limit, driving in the spirit of the number on the sign, we hit the snooze button on the alarm clock. Or we could simply struggle with allowing our spouse to make coffee for us in the morning without telling him or her to do it- our way.

Why do I fight to be in control?

Whoever tries to keep their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life will preserve it (Luke 17:33).

Ugh. That is what I am doing. I am trying to preserve my life, my choices, my self. I used to think this verse was about my salvation. Now I see it as each day/hour/minute, choosing to lose my life. In my choices, my thoughts and my actions, I can fight and resist the boundaries place around me.

Or I can surrender to God, my husband, my employer, and trust that their boundaries are in place for my safety and health, both physically and spiritually.

May my resistance be futile. 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

