hearts and bodies

I have been reading The Journals of Jim Elliot as part of my devotions in the morning. His heart’s cry to honor God above everyone and everything is helping to kindle the fire inside me.

One entry described Jacob leaving Laban and how Rachel secretly stole her father’s household idols. When her father caught up with Jacob, Laban searched throughout the bags and baggage to find them. Rachel said she had her monthly cycle and she could not stand when her father came into the tent (Genesis 31:33-35). 

In reality, she was sitting on the idols and didn’t want them discovered.

Rachel blamed a physical issue for not standing, when it was actually a heart issue. Jim Elliot wrote, “Rachel gave a natural cause for not rising to be hospitable to Laban. Have I ever, Lord, because I am concealing idols within, given physical reasons for not rising in Thy service” (p. 17)?

Have I said I was too tired, too busy, lacking the skills, to be able to rise to serving God in some way or another?

I say with my mouth that I want to do things for God, no matter what they may be, but then, I come up with excuses to not do them when given the opportunity.

Dear Ones, one day will have to give an account of our actions and our inactions. When we focus on the idol we sit on, instead of the God we  claim  to follow, we miss out. 

We may miss out on the blessing He wants us to be to another person. 

Or the lesson He wants us to learn. 

Or the clarity we may have been praying to receive. 

O Best Beloved, join with me in prayer- 

Father God, open my eyes to the idols I am sitting on. May I see them for what the are inanimate shapes capable of nothing but distraction from You- the One True God. May I cast them away and clear my heart so it can be filled with You and by You for Your purposes. Amen. 

May we remember the words Jesus spoke in the Garden of Gethsemane and heed their caution. 

Watch and pray so that you will not fall into temptation. The spirit is willing, but the flesh is weak” (Mark 14:38).

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

