battles

Prayer has been foremost on my mind and heart lately.  It isn’t enough for me to just read devotionals and smile at the sweet or profound words and move about my day. I don’t want to read the words, I want to sing, whisper, and shout words to Heaven.

I need more.

I want to get on my knees in church during worship. I ache to be prostrate before my God and plead my case. It’s as if there are wires tied to my chest and I am being tugged and pulled toward God and His throne.

Oswald Chambers, who wrote My Utmost for His Highest, described prayer this way, “Prayer does not equip us for greater works— prayer is the greater work. Yet we think of prayer as some commonsense exercise of our higher powers that simply prepares us for God’s work.”

We know in our minds that as believers we are in a battle, but are we approaching each day that way? Are we putting on our armor (Ephesians 6) or are we walking past this armor the way we do the pile of laundry that needs to be washed? We know it needs to be done, but there is a series on television we would rather binge watch.

O Best Beloved, we are on borrowed time, Jesus is coming back soon. He could be here tomorrow. Are you on your face praying for your friends and family, for yourself to be ready?

Are you ready to battle against the evil of this day and stand the ground God has given you to defend it? Are you praying over your home to be a place of peace and welcome to those who need God’s peace? Are you praying over  your children as they go through their days to know God is with them? Are you praying over your marriage and calling God into the midst of every conversation and every moment you and your spouse have together?

Are you praying for your country or just whining about it on social media?

We are at war. We may not be made for this world forever, but we do not have to hand over the keys to the enemy either.

 

Do not allow the enemy to fool you into believing it doesn’t matter. The enemy knows it matters, that’s why he will do whatever he can to keep us from hitting our knees.

Join me Dear Ones, pray. This is the work that has cleared battlefields in history from the Old Testament forward. It is the work that has changed the hearts of leaders and decision-makers. Prayer is what draws the lost to the Throne of God to be redeemed.

Prayer is the greater work  and we have been given this work to do.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to battles

  1. Prayer is what brings victory

  2. Karen Clements says:

    My favorite Chambers quote! This one is especially inspiring–thank you!

Leave a Reply

