second place

My dad was a football coach when I was young. I spent many Friday nights cheering from the stands and hearing the crash of the helmets as the players fought for control of the ball. When the movie Facing the Giants came out in 2006, I was smitten. Faith and football, what could be better?

During the course of the movie the question is raised, “Will you praise God anyway? No matter the outcome, will God still be worthy of praise?”

It is such a huge question to ask ourselves. Do our situations and circumstances take precedence over our faith and hope in God and the praise He deserves, just by being God? Do I allow my daily circumstances to run my day or do I run to God with my day?

My morning was a perfect example of this question. I had a sweet time with God this morning, grabbed my things for work, a bit late, but nothing to worry about. I got in the truck only to find my son didn’t fill the tank and now the fuel light was on. Living in the country, fifteen miles from the nearest gas station, means having a bit of faith to drive.

I could have been frustrated, cranky, and allowed that inconvenience of stopping for gas shade the rest of my day.

But I remembered the sweetness of my morning and that God was with me. Whatever happened in my day was second place. God was in first place in my heart, my mind, my soul. Right where He belonged.

Dear Ones, how do you approach your day? Do you let the events dictate your response? Or do you allow our Heavenly Father to take First Place – no matter the events, the news, the sorrow, or the joy?

Let us pray for each other to keep God first place in our lives, not just in the good times, but all the time.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

