take heart

Wait for the Lord;

be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord

(Psalm 27:14).

O Best Beloved, have you ever had prayers inside of you that were so deeply knitted to your spirit you could hardly form the words for them? Have you ever felt like the prayer inside would never come to fruition, but you prayed anyway? Did you falter? Did you fall as you waited? Did you stand firm in your faith while you waited?

So many of my prayers have been secretly started in my heart. An ache, a cry, a feeling of discomfort for a social injustice.  A desire to see healing in someone, restoration of relationships, mercy and grace in a certain situation. Each seed of prayer was dropped into my heart by something I heard, felt, or observed. Is that the same way with you?

When it comes to prayers, some are answered before Amen is spoken. Others, they are answered long after the initial prayers were spoken, sometimes years after the first words were lifted to Heaven. How do we keep that prayer alive?

Each morning, each evening, every time that person, situation, issue comes to mind, lift it to Heaven. I have learned that some things do not need flowery words of liturgy, some prayers just need to be passionate pleas to Heaven to hear us and answer.

Fill your heart with words of encouragement, reminders that our God is faithful, just, and desires to grow us in our walk with Him. Meditate on Scripture, find a passage and sit with it, read it daily, remind yourself that God hears His children, He loves them. He loves you.

Find courage Dear Heart, God has not forgotten what you have heavy on your heart. He hears you. We have been asked to wait and trust His timing, His purposes, His plan. Even if it doesn’t seem like He is moving. Remember He Lives and His timing is perfect.

I think of C. S. Lewis’ book, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, when Aslan was only discussed, but had not yet been seen by the Pevensie children. We had hints of hope, hints of promise, hints of courage and joy and possibility that came from those who’d had experiences with Aslan in the past. They knew his power, how his presence could change the course of events. So when others faltered, they stood strong. They waited. They believed he would return.

So too, with me.

 I don’t know when, how, or even where God will answer my prayers. But I continue to pray. I know my prayers reach the ear of my Heavenly Father, I know He values my heart, my aches and hurts and desires to answer my prayers with the best answers.

So even when I don’t see Him, I will trust Him. I will take heart. For He will come. He will answer. He will meet me in my times of trouble and triumph and roar with His power and His strength in my life.

So I will wait. I will wait on the Lord. Will you wait with me, Dear One?

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

