brave

The media would have us believe people are brave because they did something that looks more like a gimmick to attract attention than to take a stand for something or someone. Bravery, by definition, is courageous behavior or valor. To me, the first image of bravery comes as a soldier, policeman, fireman, who enters into the fray when others are running away.

Bravery brings to mind strength, a sense of fearlessness. A sense that the whole is more important than the one and a willingness to put the one where the whole might be saved. In my new thinking processes I find that I am choosing to be brave where I once would have quivered in fear and anxiety. I feel free- not fully free, but more than I have ever felt before.

Free to embrace what God has planned. Free to be brave and face the unknown with the God I do know, leading me the whole way. I am no longer bound by the thoughts that kept me from lifting my head and living my life as a Child of the King would.

I feel strengthened and encouraged by Scripture, by other believers, by the messages I hear on Sunday morning. I am learning that my arms are strong enough to hold my shield, to wield my sword. I have allowed the Holy Spirit to pour courage into me and like an empty cup I am filling up with eternal hope.

I am able to embrace more easily the reality of who I am and Whose I am. I am a Child of God and I am brave.

O Best Beloved, how about you? Can you lift your shield or do you need someone to come alongside you? Be encouraged Dear One, the Holy Spirit is with you as God commanded and you are not alone. Allow Him to fill you with what is lacking.

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit ~ Romans 15:13. 

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

