doctor appointments

I had a doctor’s appointment the other day. I arrived stressed and frustrated, being told to wait as I would be called soon. I waited for twenty minutes or so and was taken to the exam room, where I waited for another twenty minutes. I felt agitated and then restless, waiting to meet with the doctor. I just wanted to go home- but this was a necessary appointment for my health.

As I waited and looked out the window, I was reminded that the Great Physician sometimes makes us wait for the healing we need. Sometimes the healing comes as we expect and sometimes it comes in a completely different way.

The Great Physician however, sees more and understands more than I do. Some of my prayers have been answered with Yes, some with No,  and some with Wait. It is frustrating to be told no or wait, I often think I know more and that my way is right. Then the doctor comes in the room and says, “I know you think you have it all figured out, but let me tell you what I am seeing and why my answer is not what you expected.”

Dear Ones, when we try to force a situation we often fall flat on our faces. We were never meant to be in control, we were designed to trust God as His ways are the best ways.

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future (Jeremiah 29:11). 

My appointment went well, but the outcome was different than I had planned. My Great Physician longs for me to be whole, healthy, and healed and my doctor does, too. Each time I release my care into the hands of God I find that He really does care about me, love me, and want the best for me.

Best Beloved, have you trusted your care to the very God who created you? What is stopping you? He longs to meet your needs and care for you- Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you (1 Peter 5:7).

 

 

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

