craving more

I have a sweet tooth. Make that teeth. If I have to choose between something savory or sweet, I will choose the sweet. My husband knows this and from time to time will buy chocolate for me. In the beginning, I will eat a number of pieces- craving the taste. I want more than what I have been given, or what is good for me. We all know the stories of children who gorge themselves on candy from Halloween, getting sick in the process.

While I don’t do that, I find that old adage of “everything in moderation” comes true. Except when it comes to Jesus. When it comes to Jesus I want to dive in, over my head, deep into Him, His words, His character, His life. I crave more of the life I am called to live because of His love, life, death, and resurrection (Philippians 3:10-11).

I long to know Jesus better than I know myself- and to know myself better because I know Jesus more. I want to see the struggles I have through the eyes of Heaven, to see the battles I face with eyes like Elijah did, with eyes to see the Army of Heaven battling on my behalf  (2 Kings 6:15-17).

I long to know that when I feel alone facing my giants, the giants have already been slain. I crave the peace that seems to evade me more often than not, to know that when I feeling like I can never scale the mountain that the Lord has already moved it. The crooked path I am trying to maneuver has already been made the path straight (Isaiah 40:3).

Dear Ones,  do you crave these same things? During this Thanksgiving season, take time to not just crave more sweets or more turkey, but crave the Creator and time with Him. It will fill you in ways you never knew you could be.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

