snacking

Yesterday we ate ourselves silly with a huge meal of thanksgiving. Today is the day of snacking and eating little bits here and there throughout the day. Football games, Black Friday shopping, binge-watching shows, anything is possible to pass the time with family and friends.

I realized that our relationship with God can be a lot like Thanksgiving. Each Sunday we fill ourselves to the brim with good things and then we fast during the week. Forgetting to continue to fill our hearts, minds, and souls with Scripture, prayer, fellowship with other believers and God Himself.

Each day seems busier than the last, but there is still the opportunity to “snack” on God’s word. In the mornings I use a short devotional to focus my day, prayer devotionals for my family, a journal, and at work I have a devotional on my desk, too. However, I know that I cannot always dig deep and spend hours reading and studying as I would like to each day. Some days I can only nibble on a verse or two.

That’s ok.

Dear Ones, we do not have to overwhelm our lives with a “to-do” list of activities to be a “good Christian.” That is what religion and legalism looks like. A lot of things to check off each day, but not a lot of things that sink in deep to make a difference in your life.

Best Beloved, snacking in your Faith journey will help keep your heart open to the times you can feast on His word. So grab a handful of His goodness and keep moving.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to snacking

  1. Hi Gretchen: Hope you and your family had a Great Thanksgiving !!! I read your ‘Wildmercies’ blog but don’t think I’ve responded before. I find your comments encouraging and uplifting. lAlso, I’m going to get started on blogging. I’ve put it off long enough ! Bless You. Dean

Leave a Reply

