what should you be?

But the day of the Lord will come like a thief. The heavens will disappear with a roar; the elements will be destroyed by fire, and the earth and everything done in it will be laid bare. Since everything will be destroyed in this way, what kind of people ought you to be? You ought to live holy and godly lives (2 Peter 3:10-11).

As a new believer, I often thought I had to live a perfect life, no bad actions, no bad words, no bad thoughts. It was exhausting. I realized that in order for me to continue on my Faith Journey I would need to hold firm to Who I was following, but it would not be something I could do perfectly.

I stumbled, I fell, I repented, I got back up, I continued along with Christ. It is the way of life as a believer. We cannot be perfect this side of Heaven, but at the same time, we are called to strive for perfection according to the life Jesus lived.

So then, dear friends, since you are looking forward to this, make every effort to be found spotless, blameless and at peace with him (2 Peter 3:14).

As brothers and sisters in Christ, we are called to encourage, correct, love, and pray for our brothers and sisters in their own walks. We have to recognize that what we do will either be a building block or stumbling block for those around us.

So much of my walk has been made easier or harder by those who claim to follow Christ. Those who helped me encouraged me to read my Bible, get involved in a Bible study, gather with other believers who had walked on their Faith Journey longer than me and learn from them. I grew exponentially when I was in these kinds of settings. I learned more about being an authentic Christian and how to help others in their walks.

The harder times came when I was around people who made the Faith Journey into a “Do and Don’t list.” If I danced, watched certain movies, listened to particular radio stations, wore my clothes, hair, etc. in an unacceptable way, I was failing in my faith. It was exhausting to try to attain their ever changing rules and regulations.

Dear Ones, how is your walk going? Are you feeling invigorated when you gather with fellow believers? Do you feel like the Holy Spirit is practically surrounding your time together? Or are you feeling like you are going to fall down under the weight of the things you can and cannot do because you accepted Christ?

O Best Beloved,  we are to live as Christ did, perfectly and being perfected all at the same time. Remember, when we said yes to Jesus, we said goodbye to who we were. We said we wanted God to move in our lives and challenge, encourage, grow, and correct us to reflect the image of Jesus to those around us.

We were and are becoming more and more like Him everyday we seek to follow Him instead of our selfishness. Take heart, sweet brothers and sisters, we are more now that we ever were and less than what we will be– because of Christ. Be encouraged.

But grow in the grace and knowledge of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. To him be glory both now and forever! Amen (2 Peter 3:18).

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to what should you be?

  1. Pingback: It´s not how you fall, but how you standup | From guestwriters

Leave a Reply

