forever and ever

I found my Christmas joy today, it came wrapped in music from 1742. Handel’s Messiah has been part of my Christmas mood adjustment for years and I had forgotten how much this music meant to me in the crazy, hectic schedule our home has been following for months.

The Hallelujah Chorus was part of our annual choir concert in high school and the highlight of the evening. I loved joining in with my fellow choir members and community members to sing this sacred song. The sweeping music, the majestic lyrics, always fill my heart with promise and hope for all Christ is to me.

As I said before, my house doesn’t have decorations, there is no snow on the ground, but I have found Christmas. It is inside of me. In my heart, my soul, my mind. It is in the Bible verses I have memorized over the years that I find my peace.

Christmas really doesn’t come from a store, or anything else — It’s about my heart and yours. It’s about whether we choose to make room in our hearts for Jesus when this season comes and whether we choose to keep Him foremost in our hearts throughout the year.

The Hallelujah Chorus is something that we should be singing all year long, snow, sun, summer, or fall. He will reign forever and ever. He is the King of kings and Lord of lords.

May we all sing Hallelujah.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

