rise

I have been in counseling for a year now. I have learned how to be honest about the brokenness in my past. I have celebrated the healing I have experienced through Christ. I have been able to make plans for my future that I never thought were possible. I am not perfect-not that I am aiming for perfection. But I am restored, rebuilt, and redeemed.

As I draw to a close the past twelve months, I am grateful for the time and money spent. The willingness of my family to support me on this journey as we rearranged trucks and schedules so I was able to keep my appointment. I am grateful most of all for my husband who made a point to tell me that it wasn’t the time or the money- it was me, me, who mattered. I was worth all of the rearranging. I was worth it. The question of self-worth and value had been a serious battle inside of me.

Dear Ones, how many times have you dismissed the opportunity to seek healthy counsel? How many times have you missed the healing because you believed the lies that you weren’t worth it?

O Best Beloved. Stop coming up with excuses. Stop blaming others for the reasons you aren’t getting the help you need. You are a precious child of God and it’s time to tell the enemy to get lost (James 4:7-8, 10, 5:16).

It’s time to take off the sackcloth, time to wipe the ashes from our heads, and rise up. It’s time to embrace the life that God has given us, to remember that we were created for more. More love, more grace, more purpose, more joy, more encouragement, more reaching across to those who have never know His love before.

It’s time to rise.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to rise

  1. Teri Heimer Muhr says:

    Wow, Gretchen. That is really wonderful. Thanks for sharing your experience. Love you.

Leave a Reply

