40 days

I am going home for a visit in forty days. My boys have spring break during that time, I took the days off, so we will head east. I am looking forward to spending time with my folks, brother, and friends, reading and knitting. My dear hubby unfortunately, cannot get those days off so he will stay back and care for the animals and work during that time.

The number forty is used often in Scripture to represent journeys and times of process for God’s people in the Old Testament and in the New Testament also. For forty days and nights it rained during the Flood in Genesis 7, the Israelites wandered in the wilderness for forty years (Exodus 16). Moses spent forty days on Mt. Sinai with God as he received the Ten Commandments (Exodus 24:18). Jesus went into the wilderness for forty days after His baptism (Matthew 4).

Each time, the people who began the forty day journey/experience were changed by the end. They were humbled, they were strengthened, they were wiser, they were equipped. Whatever was going to be needed for the next steps on their Faith Journey, they received during that time.

Over the next forty days I am praying for wisdom for myself, traveling mercies for our trip. It will be the first time since 1999 that I have traveled with our boys and not had my husband at my side. I am praying for unspoken things as well. Places I am asking God to show up and show off His power and glory.

I am looking forward to seeing the ways God shows up over the next weeks. I am praying for eyes to see (1 John 1:1) and ears to hear (Matthew 11:15) what He has to say and wisdom and faith to obey His directions.

Dear Ones, do you want to join me over the next forty days? What could you offer to God and ask for wisdom, direction, restoration, release, or peace in return? Is it a relationship? Employment? Something regarding your home? Your family? Your finances? Let us lift these things up together in His name and trust Him for the outcomes (Hebrews 10:19-25).

I know whom I have believed, and am convinced that he is able to guard what I have entrusted to him until that day ( 2 Timothy 1:12).

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 40 days

  1. Pingback: Nazarene Commentary Matthew 4:1-4 A Wilderness Temptation | Belgian Biblestudents - Belgische Bijbelstudenten

  2. Pingback: Nazarene Commentary Matthew 4:12-17 – Galilee Saw A Great Light | Belgian Biblestudents - Belgische Bijbelstudenten

  3. Pingback: Nazarene Commentary Matthew 4:18-22 – The Calling of the First Disciples | Belgian Biblestudents - Belgische Bijbelstudenten

Leave a Reply

