hush

Mondays begin Sunday night for me. Somewhere around 6 p.m. I stop thinking of Sunday as a day of rest and instead, I think of the preparations needed to make the work day run smoothly. Clothes laid out, coffee pot ready to make coffee in the morning, alarm set. Whatever is needed for me to be able to get up and go without major complications to start my week.

The one thing that is needed the most is rest. Rest for my body, but more importantly, rest for my soul. Time to be quiet, to breathe deeply, allowing my mind, heart, and soul to settle down. In order to hear the Holy Spirit speak to me, I need to hush everything else around me.

Just like when my children were young, I crave the quiet of nap time. Not being needed, demanded to do tasks, to have the silence of the house around me and allow God to talk to me.

When we are exhausted our bodies are only craving sleep and not restoration in our souls. But the rest our physical bodies need will lead to the rest our souls need. Just watch a teenager who has been filling his schedule to the maximum with little time for sleep. Eventually, he will need to sleep, for hours and hours, until his body is restored. Only then can he hear any other kinds of direction, assistance, or instruction.

Dear Ones, let us embrace our times of sleep, our times to be still, and allow our cups to fill again. Joy will come in, peace will come in, and grace will come in- if we just allow our hearts to hush.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

