If, then 

Grammar was one of my favorite subjects to teach. Each participle, noun, adjective, and preposition was like a piece to the puzzle of the English language.  The words if and then are the same way. Like a scale, where one word is, the other word must also be, to bring balance to the sentence. 

I’ve learned that no where else is this balance more true, than in my faith journey. 

As I continue on the path I am on, I discover how true God is in His promises and love for us. If God is who He says He is, then the plans and purposes He has created for me to fulfill are important. I am not created for my selfish wants, but for His selfless plan to show His love through me. 

If I say I am a believer, then my words, actions, and interaction with others will reflect Him like the moon reflects the sun. But if my outside doesn’t reflect the faith I have inside, then my behavior could cause someone to stumble or turn away from God. 

The same goes for God. If God tells me He loves me (Isaiah 43:4) then I can stop trying to earn it and rest in His love instead. If God tells me He will never leave me or forsake me (Hebrews 13:5) then I can trust Him to be by my side no matter how dark it may seem. 

Another lesson I have learned is that if I don’t like a situation and I know that I can be a part of changing it for His glory, then I better act on it. Whether it’s helping the homeless in my town, loving on hurting teens in a small group setting, or caring for my family- if I see that need, then I can be a part of filling the need. 

Dear Ones, what is your if, then statement? What thing do you see and realize is a part of the plan you were created to fulfill for God’s glory? Are you praying about it? Seek His wisdom and God will provide it (James 1:5). He is faithful and He will act through us, if only we allow Him access to our hearts and hands. 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

