the day before

Thirty-nine days have passed and tomorrow my sons and I drive to my folks’ to spend a week with them. We are all excited to spend time together, to catch up on stories, share meals and laughter- for one last time before my oldest goes off to college. At this time, all of our plans are still plans. Nothing has occurred yet, we are still preparing for the trip.

In Joshua 3, the people of Israel stood at the edge of the Promised Land. The last act of faith would be to cross the swollen river Jordan rushing in front of them.  The priests were going to carry the Ark of the Covenant in front of all the people, leading them through the river to their new home.  Joshua told the people, “Consecrate yourselves, for tomorrow the Lord will do amazing things among you” (Joshua 3:5). 

The next day, after the people were prepared and consecrated, the priests began to walk with the Ark. They stepped into the swirling river and with the next step, they were walking on dried ground. The LORD had stopped the river to allow them to cross over, a miracle not seen by the new generation (Joshua 3: 11:13).

I wonder if the Israelites even imagined the kinds of things God was going to do when they woke up in the morning. Sure they had watched God defeat their enemies in extraordinary ways (Jericho for instance), but when Joshua tells them, “The Lord will do amazing things among you” it is because he knows Who God is and what He is capable of doing.

I think of the night before I met my husband, the day before I accepted his proposal, or the day before I married him. Each night before those life changing events seemed like just another day. I thought I would just wake up, go through my scheduled plans, and then go to bed to do the whole thing all over again. I didn’t know that the next morning my life would be changed.

July 15, 1990 was just another day. I was working at a summer camp, meeting people, working, enjoying my summer of freedom. I had no idea that I would accept the amazing grace God was offering the next day. I had no way of understanding the soul-washing waves that would crash over me when I asked Jesus to forgive me of my sins, cleansing me from my hurt, pain, regret, fear, and sadness. When I went to sleep that night of the 15th, I didn’t know it was the day before I met Christ.

What about you, Best Beloved? Can you recall the day before you met Jesus? Who were you then? Who are you now? Who will you be tomorrow? Today could be the day before something amazing– are you looking for what God may have in store for you?

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

