contented

At the livestock auction I spent time watching the crowd, making up stories for why the families and farmers were there and why they may have bid on the animals. One of the families attending the auction was Amish. A father with his three young children, two boys and a girl, between the ages of eight to four. Many children were running up and down the bleachers, rushing past the other attendees to see the animals, and melting down when they were tired, hungry, or bored. The three Amish children sat quietly with their father, the little girl, approximately six, put her head on her dad’s knee and fell asleep. The little brother slept while leaning on his big brother.

I marveled and smiled at the contentment and self control these children had. They watched the animals come into the arena, spoke quietly with their father, and did not fidget or fuss as the day went on. I found myself wondering what their life was like, what responsibilities the children had when they were home. How they fit into the family dynamics.

As I reflected over the day’s events I found myself coming back to this family. They stood out because of their clothing at first. It was simple, functional, but not bright or trying to attract attention. The clothing was forgotten soon because of their comportment. It reminded me of the verse, Psalm 131:2 But I have calmed and quieted myself, I am like a weaned child with its mother; like a weaned child I am content.  The children were content sitting with their father. They saw the activities going on around them and yet, did not feel the pull to the frivolous things. They knew where they were, whose they were, and where they belonged.

As a believer, I think I forget that sometimes. Where I am, whose I am, where I belong. I have all I need in Christ. Peace, joy, a future, blessings, direction, purpose, mercy, forgiveness, grace. The list is long. All I need to do is remember to be still in His presence and let Him meet me there. I have the ability to be content, if I allow myself (Psalm 46:10).

Paul explained this perspective so well in Philippians 4:12-13:  I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Dear Ones, what about you and your walk with God? Are you running all around pointing at the things you want, demanding things that look good, but may not be the best things for you? Or are you seated at your Father’s side, resting in His presence, and trusting Him to care for you as only He can (1 Peter 5:7)? Let us learn from the little children and cast it all at His feet and be contented.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

