where are you?

This week has been very busy within my family and at work. I have found myself dozing off at unusual times, taking naps in the car after work, while waiting for my son’s soccer practice to finish. Coffee has been my companion each morning as I strive to complete my to-do list. I have renamed today as Finally Friday and am grateful I can sleep in tomorrow.

If someone asked me where I am today, I would say, “I am crawling on my belly to the finish line.” I am tired, but in a good way. I have left it all on the field this week, striving to do my best and not just get by.

Throughout Scripture there are places where people were asked for their location. Whether is was God asking Adam where he was after he sinned with Eve, if Moses was standing on holy ground, or where to find David’s brothers as they fought in battle-the location mattered.

Where we are speaks of where we have been and where we may be going. It speaks of our spirit’s condition and our soul’s desire. It’s like a thermometer for our lives. At the end of this wild week, I find myself trying to take my temperature. Where am I in my heart? Am I still filled with peace? With grace? Mercy? Have I allowed my soul to empty without refilling with God?

Where am I ? My heart whimpers softly to be filled by the Holy Spirit and to have this Living Love to come through the conversations I have today. To give it to my family, my friends, and to the strangers I pass on the sidewalk.

Dear Ones,  may I ask, where are you today? Where is your heart? What is your temperature? Where do you want to be at the end of today? Do you want a long list of regrets or a long list of blessings? I know we know the obvious answer, but the question comes, how do we get there?

I believe the first step is to be honest with our location.

Second, seek God’s direction.

Third, listen to His calling and obey it. Like David did in Psalm 63 and recognize the blessing you have in the relationship with God. Call out to Him and join Him where He is.

His location is always the right place to be.

 You, God, are my God,
    earnestly I seek you;
I thirst for you,
    my whole being longs for you,
in a dry and parched land
    where there is no water.

I have seen you in the sanctuary
    and beheld your power and your glory.
 Because your love is better than life,
    my lips will glorify you.
 I will praise you as long as I live,
    and in your name I will lift up my hands.
 I will be fully satisfied as with the richest of foods;
    with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

 On my bed I remember you;
    I think of you through the watches of the night.
 Because you are my help,
    I sing in the shadow of your wings.
 I cling to you;
    your right hand upholds me.

Psalm 63:1-8

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

