slaves no longer

As I have been reflecting during this past weekend, I have heard these words whispered intensely in my ear, “You are a slave no more. ” I remember the pain of Jesus on Good Friday, being whipped, beaten, and killed as He carried my sins in my place. I think of the joy I felt Sunday morning as I gathered with other believers to celebrate Jesus’ resurrection. I felt like my own grave clothes had been removed, like I had been freed to embrace my new life.

If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you profess your faith and are saved (Romans 10:9-10).

I battle daily to stay out of the prison I had created. My anxiety, fear, and worry have been removed from my life through Faith, counseling, and other assistance. I have found myself freed from the things that used to keep me paralyzed in my mind, unable to make simple decisions, like what to eat for breakfast.

Now, over a year later, I have been released from the prison of my making and I am a slave no longer. Being able to take apart the broken thinking I had in the past and correct it to healthy, whole thinking has been more than I could have imagined. Jesus’ death and resurrection gave me the promise that my darkness was not the last voice in my life. Jesus was my light then and is my life today.

I am freed and I find myself celebrating this truth, The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father” (Romans 8:15). I am a child of God and I do not have to be bound anymore.

I am no longer a slave to fear, I am a child of God. What about you Dear Ones? Have you had the chains of your pain broken by the resurrected Jesus? Have you recognized that you no longer have to carry the burden ? That Jesus’ death and burial and resurrection took it away. You may be carrying the phantom weight from those burdens, but you are free now. Free.

Let us live as the freed, children of a Living God, no longer slaves, but freed.

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery (Galatians 5:1a). 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

