Hephzibah

I am a bit of a linguistic nut. All of my life, I have enjoyed learning the sound of words in different languages from how to say, “Hello my name is…” to “I love you.” I want soak in the richness of the pronunciation and the way a word feels when I say it. When it comes to Hebrew, I feel a bit like a child with who has been given a treasured item, reserved for special occasions. It is a precious language that has rich heritage with God’s people.

In Isaiah 62:4 God’s delight is being described for His people:

No longer will they call you Deserted,
    or name your land Desolate.
But you will be called Hephzibah,
    and your land Beulah;
for the Lord will take delight in you,
    and your land will be married.

I was so taken by this idea of Hephzibah- it means my delight is in her. The idea of being someone’s delight, someone whose very existence brings joy to another. When my husband and I were engaged we lived in two different states. We were pre-Skype, Facebook, and smart phones so our communication was through packages, letters and cards, and long phone calls.

During one phone call, my husband told me that he found a verse that described me. An excellent wife who can find? She is worth far more than rubies (Proverbs 31:10). I had never had anyone say something like that about me. I felt so special and loved. This same kind of love and care is what God feels for Israel and by extension, us. As His children, His Bride, we are His delight. His love for us is immeasurable. We are described as a “crown of beauty in the hand of the LORD” (Isaiah 62:3a).

Image result for free crown images with rubies

What makes my heart hurt is when we forget this truth. We believe the lies people tell us about our skills, our talents, about our looks, about our worth. We are called a “royal diadem in the hand of your God” (Isaiah 62:3b). Diadem means a jeweled crown or headband worn as a symbol of sovereignty. In other words, we are the crown God wears that symbolizes His authority as Sovereign God of the Universe. When we start believing the tarnishing words we forget that we are meant to shine (Matthew 5:14)!

Precious Child of God, please remember your name is Hephzibah. You are God’s delight (Isaiah 62:4b). You matter to Him, you are not forsaken (Isaiah 62:4a). You are like the bride whom the bridegroom rejoices over- Jesus rejoices over the Bride of Christ. We are the bride, we are His bride.

Best Beloved, let us remember Whose we are. We are God’s children.

Blessings.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

