Air

Lately I have been in training. Not for a race to run or other kind of athletic event, I have been training myself how to breathe again. It sounds silly to say, since breathing is not a conscious activity, but after nearly thirty-five years of worrying and being anxious about my life and my loved ones, I am finally starting to breathe deeply.

I realized that I have so many books on my shelves whose topic is simplicity and letting go, but I never seem to be able to follow their directions for longer than it takes me to finish the book. It wasn’t until I learned about why my hands have gripped so tightly for so long, that I was able to release my fingers from the things I had held so desperately.

So today, I close my eyes and allow the oxygen to slowly fill my lungs to full capacity. I hold my breath for a few moments, feeling the pressure of the air in my lungs. Then I exhale– slowly, fully, and let my body recognize the sensation of letting go. Sometimes, when I can tell my stress level is growing, I will take in four or five deep breaths, just allowing them to wash over me and reset my perspective.

In Scripture the word for Spirit is pneuma which can also mean breath of nostrils or mouth (http://www.biblestudytools.com/lexicons/greek/nas/pneuma.html). The idea being that when I am breathing in I am not just taking in the element of oxygen. I am breathing in the Holy Spirit once more to displace the discord I feel from my worries or anxiousness. I replace chaos for peace.

Dear One, what about you? What are you breathing in and breathing out? Are you taking in the pure air that only God can provide or are you trying to force air in on your own? Why continue to force something that God never intended? Let Him breathe into you the same way He breathed life into Adam (Genesis 2:7).

In my life I have breathed in the air from the top of mountains in the Rockies and from deep within caverns.

Image result for baldy mountain philmont

Image result for carlsbad caverns

But the sweetest breath I have ever drawn in has been the one filled with the peace only Jesus can bring. Join me Best Beloved, let us breathe in all that He offers to us today.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, maturing in Christ, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

