It’s not up to you

Each day my alarm goes off I find myself struggling with getting the ever elusive “five more minutes” I think I need. My daily routine includes getting myself ready, making sure my son is awake, and feeding the animals. It’s something I do because I enjoy the satisfaction that everyone and everything has their needs met. When I go to work I interact with people on the phones and in the office and my goal is the same. To meet their needs.

It is a mantle I have worn since I was very young, to focus on others. I want to do whatever will let someone know they matter, they have value, and I care for them. Unfortunately, I have had to learn that I cannot meet all of their needs. Some things are not in my skill set and will never be there either.

As a matter of fact, I have had to learn the hard way that it’s not up to me.

When I try to satisfy the wants and needs of my loved ones, I am trying to replace the very position God holds. He is the one who is supposed to hear their hearts’ cry and help them with their wants and needs. I may be used as part of His plan, I may not. But it’s not up to me.

As my counseling continues to resonate in my life I find that I have reordered my perspective with those in my life. I would be happy to meet the needs I can, I am supposed to meet. but then when it is out of my hands, I leave it out of my hands. There are times when it is between that person and God to find resolution for their issues, needs, desires.

I was not made to meet them, God has been waiting all of eternity to meet them, it’s just up to them to allow Him to meet them.

Dear Ones, where are you trying to do it all for those around you? How are you feeling? Tired? Frustrated? A bit like a martyr? Stop trying to carry it all. It’s not up to you. It’s up to that precious child and God to find the resolutions needed. Help where you can, where you are invited, and let it go when you are supposed to let go.

And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:19, bold mine). So trust Him with it.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

