My friend, Elisabeth

Years ago, I was supposed to get married to a young man who lived in Texas. I was living in Illinois at the time and as the time got closer to the wedding date I was given books about marriage, relationships, and so on. One of the books I was given was, Passion and Purity, by Elisabeth Elliot. It was about the courtship of Elisabeth and her first husband, Jim Elliot. She wrote with honesty, yet with a gentle heart about what it meant to follow Jesus, even when madly in love with someone. It was such a change from the way the world had taught me to have a relationship.

As I grew in my walk, I found more books written by Elisabeth Elliot that spoke to me and taught me about the way my I could walk with Jesus as a woman, a wife, and a mother. The books which spoke to me so deeply were Quest for Love, Let Me Be a Woman, Shadow of the Almighty, Discipline the Glad Surrender, and The Shaping of a Christian Family.

 It was after reading the last book that I built up the courage to write a letter to Elisabeth. I couldn’t find an address for a publicist, but I did find one for a place in Massachusetts. So I wrote her about my walk with Jesus and how her books had been used to help me grow in my Faith Journey.

Imagine my shock when I went to mailbox one day to find a letter from that same Massachusetts address. She wrote kind words of encouragement to me and shared a bit of her life in those brief lines. I felt like I had met royalty. Her letter has been kept in my Bible in Jeremiah 31:3, The Lord appeared to us in the past, saying: “I have loved you with an everlasting love; I have drawn you with unfailing kindness. A verse she often spoke at the beginning of her radio program, Gateway to Joy. Elisabeth Elliot was a beautiful woman of God whose path was not one she would have probably chosen, but one she was obedient to walk out of her love for Jesus.

“Does it make sense to pray for guidance about the future if we are not obeying in the thing that lies before us today? How many momentous events in Scripture depended on one person’s seemingly small act of obedience! Rest assured: Do what God tells you to do now, and, depend upon it, you will be shown what to do next.”

From Quest for Love: True Stories of Passion and Purity

Dear Ones, to whom do you look for wisdom, direction, and correction? Who is the “Jesus with skin on” that speaks to you and mentors you in your Faith Journey? If you don’t have someone who can sit with you on a couch with a cup of coffee, may I recommend my friend, Elisabeth? Although she has passed away her words still speak volumes and hold the truth of Scripture and can bless you in ways that can impact generations.

 

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in maturing in Christ, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

