transcending

It has been an evolution for me as I have faced the unknown. As I have shared, anxiety had a stronghold on my life for over thirty years and nearly broke me. Thankfully, my husband reminded me that I was worth the time and effort of getting the help I desperately needed. Now, as I look at situations where the outcome is unclear and what I am facing may bring more questions than answers, I am able to trust.

The verse in Philippians 4:6-7 has become more than just a platitude. It has become and continues to become a way of approaching my life. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. I am remembering that my battles are not actually mine. They belong to God (Exodus 14:14).

When I watch people I love undergo unexpected surgery or face unexpected job loss, I often say a simple pleading prayer, O God. I feel helpless, but He is not. I feel lost, but He is not. I cannot find a solution for the person I care about, but God can. Jesus’ death and resurrection gave us full access to God and I know He has it all figured out.

The one thing I am to do is take my anxiety to Jesus. Take my concerns, my worries, my doubts, and especially my fears to Jesus. When I place these things in His hands, I leave them there. I take my hands off and let Him hold them. Instead of wallowing in the worry, I allow His peace to transcend my mind and heart and change my perspective. It isn’t a perfect process, but it is continuing to progress.

Dear One, do you understand how much Jesus wants to carry your burdens? How much He wants to give you His peace and allow you to rest in Him, instead of being bent over with unnecessary struggles?

I pray O Best Beloved, that you can come to Him with all of your concerns and leave them with Him. He will care for them and He will care for you (1 Peter 5:7). Let us find the transcending peace He offers by trusting Him. If we do, we will never be the same.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

