peddling through the cycle

One of my favorite stories is called “This is the house that Jack built” by Mother Goose. The whole story is told in a circular narrative style, in other words, the first line is commonly the last line of the poem or story.

On the Faith Journey, it can often be the same thing. We can go through so many experiences, good and bad, and still feel like we have come back to where we started. Our restoration project at our house has days when we feel like we have accomplished so much. Other days, it feels like we just moved into the house and nothing is completed. It’s those moments when I feel like I am on a merry-go-round, it seems like an adventure, but really, I am just going in circles.

These are the times when it is crucial for me to keep peddling. As a believer, even if I am back at the beginning, it is actually not the beginning at all. I am not the same person I was when I started. I have gained insight, I may have scrapes, scars, and bruises that weren’t there before. I have learned that I am stronger, through God’s help, than I was before I started. My bike has more miles, I know the feel of it under my feet as I peddle, I can feel the strain on the gears as I go up hill. I know the freedom of going down a hill, feet out, letting the peddles speed around and around.

My legs are stronger, my back is stronger because I leaned into the wind as I pushed through the difficulties. My spirit has learned that it is more resilient as I battle the flat roads where peddling is all I can do to go to the next place.

When I find myself back in the same location as before, I may be disappointed to have the same view. I also am able to celebrate. I am different, I have grown. And maybe that is why I started in the first place.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

