sticker burrs

My dogs and goats often go exploring in the wooded section of our property. During this time of year and especially in the fall, they come out of the woods with burrs stuck to their coats. If you think about it, it’s a creative way to spread the plants. The animals will often pull the burrs from their fur or coat and drop it where it lands, allowing the seeds to settle into the soil and take root.

Image result for sticker burrs

On our Faith Journey we have the opportunity to do the same thing. We can cling to Jesus, being tenacious in our pursuit of Him and His teaching. By clinging to Him, when we are eventually placed where He wants us to grow, we can share His great love for others.

When my husband and I were married our pastor spoke of the tenacity with which my husband pursued me. My husband loved me and sought after me, seeking to share his love for me. It took over three years for me to realize his love for me, but when I did, I was immersed in it. Jesus’ love for us is the same way. He pursues us, seeking us, longing to show us how precious we are, that He desires to have deep, meaningful relationship with us.

Sticker burrs cling to us when we walk through the fields and woods, to be prepared to spread the seeds they contain. My question is, Am I spreading God’s word, to take root and grow tall and strong?  Or am I spreading discontent, anger and dismay in the community around me? I long to spread God’s word, His love, His great grace and mercy. But when I haven’t had enough sleep, or am upset about something, what kind of seed do I sow?

Best Beloved, what are you spreading? Are you being a sticker burr, clinging to Jesus, seeking to spread His love to others? Are you tenaciously seeking God to grow in yourself? Are you remembering Lamentations 3:22-23? The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases, His mercies never come to an end, they are new every morning, great is Your faithfulness O Lord.

Let us be steadfast as the Lord is steadfast to us.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

