blessings to you

It is the end of the school year and as students clean out their lockers, hand in their final papers and take their final tests, there is a need for something more. One more conversation with the students in our classrooms and small groups. It is time to speak into their lives, to speak truth to their hearts.

As I watch my senior prepare for his last finals and focus forward to college, I think of all the voices that are going to tell him what he is and what he isn’t. I want to make sure he knows Whose he is and what that means compared to the world’s view.

When I was teaching a few years ago, I had the sweet opportunity to write blessings over my students. The blessings were read on the last day of school with family and friends in attendance. It was the highlight of the year for the parents, to hear words of affirmation being spoken over their son or daughter. Words that may not be heard if Mom or Dad spoke them. Speaking over each student the characteristics and gifts I saw in them, the way I had watched them grow throughout the year, moved me to tears.

When it comes to my own sons, I feel the same way. Over the past semester my eldest has driven into town with me each morning. This week I told him how glad I was to have had this time with him and how much I appreciated it. He looked at me and said, “Why?” I laughed and responded with, “Well, first of all, you are my kid and I love you, that’s why.” But I didn’t stop there. I continued to tell him that I loved learning about the things he was doing in school, with his friends, the silly stories he shared about their antics. I enjoyed the way he described what he was fixing and tweaking on the truck he bought.

I also expressed the way he challenged me to be brave in ways I never would have been when I was his age. By the time he pulled up to the door at my work his body language told me that he had heard my words. His cup was filled and he understood once again, that he had value and immeasurable worth.

I only have a few weeks left until he leaves for college. He is looking at the list of “to-do” that continues to grow as he finalizes plans for August. My heart’s desire to make sure his heart is full of truths right from my heart and Scripture. His journey into the world will be hard enough. My job description as “mom” may be changing, but in some ways, it has become more important than ever before.

Dear Ones, who are the young men and women in your life who need words that are deep, rich, and true ? What words would have made the difference in your lives at that young age of adulthood? Please speak them to those around you. Share your heart. Your words may be the very words they need to try again when things fall apart.

A word spoken at the right time is like gold apples on a silver tray (Proverbs 25:11 HCSB). May your words be this precious to those who hear them.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in maturing in Christ, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

