dear heart

As an adult, I have found more comfort in the Narnia series by C.S.Lewis than I did as a child. When I first read the series, I found the adventures of Peter, Lucy, Edmond, Susan, and later Eustace and Jill fascinating. I would want to read more to learn what they were going to do next, would the White Witch win? Would Aslan show up in time? Such excitement was found in the pages.

Image result for images of lions

As an adult, I find myself paying more attention to the dialogue. Listening for clues of the world that always seemed out of my reach and yet just around the corner from me. Whenever Aslan speaks in the series I know his words will have depth, breadth, and wisdom in them.

In the book, Voyage of the Dawn Treader, Alsan does not show up immediately. He is spoken about by the characters, but his physical presence comes later in the story. So as Lucy stands on the deck of the Dawn Treader she experiences a quiet moment that is just for her.

“But no one except Lucy knew that as it circled the mast it had whispered to her, “Courage, dear heart,” and the voice, she felt sure, was Aslan’s, and with the voice a delicious smell breathed in her face.”

Each time I read these words, I feel my spirit exhale. My heart slows and my eyes close as I too, feel that breath on my face. Knowing that God is speaking to my soul, helping me remember that I am not without anything, when I have Him in my life.

Courage is something that helps soldiers step into the fray of battle, doctors perform surgeries that will save a life. It helps new parents take on the tasks and challenges of caring for their small child. Courage is what helps cancer patients continue through the difficult procedures and chemotherapy so they can be victor over the illness.

Courage is what we all need when we face what seems impossible, uncomfortable, or even scary. We cannot take the next steps unless we hold to the courage that Jesus gives us as He walks beside us. He told us we would face difficulty, but He also reminds us that we don’t have to fight the battle. Through Jesus it has already been won.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world” (John 16:33, bold mine).

What are you facing, Best Beloved, that would be best met with more courage? Where do you need Jesus to come and take your hand to remind you, you are not alone? He is with you and will not leave you or forsake you (Hebrews 13:5b).

Let us both find the courage that we need in Him and continue on our Faith Journey together.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to dear heart

  1. I read the stories as a child and love them. Now I am a grandmother and still love them, but I also find deeper meaning in them. I like that reminder that Jesus is always with us and will never leave us or forsake us.

Leave a Reply

