bored, bored, bored

During my lunch hour I decided to walk around the drug store across the street from my building. I found myself wanting to get something, but not really having anything in mind. I wandered the aisles deciding if I needed anything and then deciding that I didn’t need something as much as I just wanted to buy an item or two. It was just something to do because I didn’t know what else to do.

I was bored.

When I get bored I try to do things I think would work, without taking the time to think through how to make them work. When I get bored, I make work where there is no work, just to have an activity to do. When I get bored, trouble usually follows.

David struggled with the same thing when he sinned with Bathsheba. He was bored, his kingdom was successful. He was established as the king of all Israel and Judah (2 Samuel 11) and he didn’t choose to join his army. He stayed home. He didn’t choose to be intentional with his tasks and his role as leader. He decided to disengage. This is where he started to get in trouble. Bathsheba was not the issue, it was David’s heart. He had lost his focus. His purpose.

The enemy does not need to knock us fully on our backs to distract us or prevent us from growing and maturing in Christ. He just needs to nudge us a little to change our trajectory. I have watched men, who by all appearances seem to be walking faithfully with their wives, actually be walking further and further away from the very vows they spoke. Until they are completely on a different path, far from the spouse and far from God.

Years ago I remember reading that as believers it is our job to be intentional in our faith. We must choose daily to seek God, to honor Him in our relationships, to dig deeper into His word, and to have our actions reflect Philippians 1:27. Our conduct is to be worthy of the Christ we say we follow. Which means being intentional and not allowing ourselves to be tossed by the waves (Ephesians 4:14).

It is not an easy task. I would rather peddle my bike and then coast a bit than continue to peddle. I think most people would. Then I think of the cloud of witnesses described in Hebrews 12:1-3, the saints who went before us and what their lives were like. The decision to keep going, even when it didn’t seem like it would matter, made the difference in their relationships with Jesus.

I don’t want to be bored in my life. It’s wasteful and as I said, dangerous. My prayer is that we will choose to engage in our lives and in our faith with purpose. I pray we will find courage and perseverance to continue to run the race (Hebrews 12:1).

Let us tie up our laces and start running.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

