peace by piece

In the last couple of weeks precious, priceless people in my life have had their lives shattered by emotional brokenness or irreparable loss. While I have been praying for them and those involved, I have been lifting up a prayer for peace more than anything else.

I am not praying for them to have answers to their whys – these answers will come on the other side of Heaven. I am praying for them to be able to let go of their whys and take hold of Jesus.

I am praying for them to know the comfort of climbing into His lap as a little child would, to lay their heads on His chest and let go of their tears, their pain, their anger, and their sorrow.

I am praying for them to find the rest for their souls that is needed to allow them sleep during their pain.

I am praying for them to know they are absolutely precious in His sight (Isaiah 43:4) and loved with an everlasting love (Jeremiah 31:3).

I am praying for them to allow their hearts to feel broken- to recognize the pain for what it is- a place where Jesus can meet them intimately.

In the middle of the shattered spirit, I am praying for Jesus to come in and gather the pieces together and restore their spirits by His perfect peace.

I am praying for them to know that in the midst of the rawness of their pain, that it is possible to sing, it is well with my soul. 

Jesus came to this world and fulfilled the verses in Isaiah 61, The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me, because the Lord has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives and release from darkness for the prisoners…

Jesus is here to bind up the brokenhearted. He is here to hold those whose world has fallen apart. Jesus is here to heal us and binds up [our] wounds (Psalm 147:3). We just need to allow Him into our pain, our sorrow.

Jesus longs to walk with us in the midst of this valley (Psalm 23:4). I pray we will let Him.

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

