foot steps

Oh God, You are my God
And I will ever praise You
Oh God, You are my God
And I will ever praise You
I will seek You in the morning
And I will learn to walk in Your ways
And step by step You’ll lead me
And I will follow You all of my days

~Rich Mullins/ Beaker

Every day when we get dressed we make a choice. Will we dress up? Will we dress casually? Will we stay in our pj’s all day? Will we wear flip flops? Tennies? Boots? Will we go barefoot? Our decisions are based on what we plan to do during the day. Are we going to work ? Are we on vacation? Are we staying at home?

Our walk with Jesus is decided by whether we are prepared to walk with Him or just in His general direction. When we go on a journey we must be willing to continue to go forward, not just rest where we stopped the day before because we have traveled so far in the past.

There are days when my feet want to stay off the floor and under the covers. I don’t want to get out of bed and decide once again who I will follow- Jesus or myself. There are days when my heart is defiant. Even though I am being invited to go further on with Jesus, I turn away from His invitation and ignore it. I stay in bed. Or worse, I return to the very places Jesus and I worked so hard on so I could walk away from them.

Thankfully, my foolishness and the ways I break away can be repaired. It just takes placing my feet on the floor and walking to Jesus to ask His forgiveness. He is easily approached and willing to restore our relationship. I just need to walk to Him. My Jesus is the One who waits for me and holds out His hand to rescue me from myself.

Shauna Niequist writes about this in her book, Present over Perfect, describing the interaction between Peter and Jesus when Peter steps onto the water (Matthew 14). Shauna explains that she had viewed the story as Jesus scolding Peter when he began to sink. When one day she realized it wasn’t a scolding, it was an encouraging. It was first the rescue and then the building into conversation. That is what Jesus wants to do with us.

My feet may follow in His steps faithfully today, but tomorrow I may wander. It’s all about the calling out to Jesus when I recognize I am wandering and allowing Him to rescue me and restore me to Himself.

Precious Child, where are your feet today? Are they walking with Jesus? Is your heart in tune with Him? Or are you hiding under the covers hoping He doesn’t notice your absence?

Dear Ones, may we remember that we called to walk with Him in His marvelous light (1 Peter 2:9) and that is where our feet will walk best.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

