good food

When it comes to Friday and the weekend I am immediately drawn to snack foods, pizza, pop, cookies, ice cream. I want it all. I think it’s about the fact that I “deserve” a reward for surviving the week. The problem with this is that soon, my food desire creeps into the rest of the week and I find myself wanting sugar, chocolate, and pop on Tuesdays- not just the weekend. While sugar and sweets are okay in moderation, they are a terrible day-to-day meal plan.

Scripture tells us that we are to watch what we put in our hearts, minds, and even our mouths because it will impact our lives. Deuteronomy 6, which includes the Shema in verses 4-9, contains strong, immovable truths for our lives. We are to learn and know the commands of God and also teach them to our children. We are commanded to eat good food and teach our children to do the same.

I cannot teach my children to eat well the truths of Scripture if all I am filling up with is junk food; cute quotes, sweet devotions, and warm fuzzies that can so often be full of nothing but air. If I am called to the good food of true teaching and God’s word, then I must make the time to study it.

It is the new week and I am eating well. Healthy foods that give me energy and stamina to go through my day. When I spend quality time with God, I find myself filled with energy and stamina to go through my day- knowing that I carry with me the very fuel of Heaven which will help me face trials, encourage me to compassion, and give me peace when turmoil swirls at my feet.

O Best Beloved,  what are you ingesting today? Is it the leftovers of quiet times from the past? Are you trying to make it last longer than it was intended? Are you filling yourself with good things from Heaven itself? Scripture is so clear. What we put in us, will come out of us, and usually at times when we least expect it (Luke 6:45).

Precious Child of God, seek His face today. It doesn’t have to be hours and hours in silence and solitude. It can be fifteen minutes of quiet in a chair, with your Bible, a notebook, and a pen. Just seek Him. He is waiting to fill you with good things and good food.

And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.  To our God and Father be glory for ever and ever. Amen (Philippians 4:19-20).

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to good food

  1. Thank you for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

