covered

For as far back as I can recall, my family has made nature a thing to study. My brother and I learned to watch clouds form, appreciate the changing of seasons, and find the wonder in how things are created. To this day, I will watch the sky to see what is coming; sunshine, storms, rain, snow, wind. Will it be warm? Will it be humid? I have learned the little hints provided in nature and I love it.

While the storms in physical nature are wonderful to experience, even when the power of them can be overwhelming, it is the storms in the spiritual realm that can impact me deeply. One of the passages I memorized nearly twenty-five years ago is Psalm 91. I loved the sense of security found in the words, the way I could find shelter and know that I was protected by God Himself from whatever would come. I didn’t know I was going to experience it in a tangible way.

During the summer of 1994, I was working at a camp in the mountains of New Mexico. It was not uncommon for storms to come rolling in suddenly during the later part of the season. As a friend and I sat in our canvas tents talking the wind began to pick up and the sky turned a light grey. We spoke a little louder, but thought little of it, until the rain began. Between the rain and the wind it was no longer possible to talk to each other and we could tell a storm was really coming in. We tied down our tent flaps and zipped up the windows, preparing for whatever would come.

Shortly afterward the full power of the storm fell on us. Our canvas tents rocked back and forth as the wind seemed to play chase around our feeble homes. Then it began to hail – a first for me to see in the mountains – especially to the extent it fell that day. For over an hour I did my best to protect my possessions in my tent as the wind drove the rain through the canvas and soaked much of what I had.

Eventually it began to die down, the rain slowed, and the storm moved on. As we cautiously looked out of our tents, we saw the damage left behind. Items that had been left outside were soaking in rain water and melting hail. Others which were not tied down were strewn about the tents. But the biggest damage was to my neighbors’ tent.  The wind had hit it with such force that the canvas was torn from it’s posts and ties and the whole tent was thrown on the hill behind the platform. All of the girls bedding, clothing, books, personal items, everything was soaked and water damaged. I was amazed by how this destruction had missed me.

And then I remembered, no harm will come to you; no disaster will come near your tent.
 For He will give His angels orders concerning you, to protect you in all your ways (Psalm 91: 10-11).
 

God showed me in the storm that I was covered by His wings of protection. I was able to go forward because He had it all under control. Dear Ones, what about you? Do you fear the storms or do you rest in His protection? May I suggest studying Psalm 91 and taking in the promises and truth of the God we follow?

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

