resurrection days

Each morning when I wake up, I have the choice of living as I did the day before, or embrace the newness of the day with a new me. Will I be new? Will I remain the same?

In 1990 I had the opportunity to go work in another state, far away from the people who knew my story, my faults, and my brokenness. I decided to tell a lie about myself, and try to convince the new people I met that I was better than I really was on the inside. It might have worked, if it weren’t for a couple dear people in whom I confided.

Somehow, the weight of the pain and failings I thought I had left behind managed to creep into the new state with me. So on a rare day, I decided to speak the truth. On a cot in a canvas tent in the middle of the Sangre de Cristo mountains, I told the story of my mistakes, my failings, the hurts, pains, the feelings of inadequacy, all of it. To a total stranger, a person I would never see again. I don’t remember his reaction to my lengthy confession. But I do know that he didn’t run away when he saw me again the next day. Or the next. He accepted me as I was, where I was.

Later, someone gave me a story to read about another person who had a long list to confess. I found hope that I could find some peace by reading that story. Soon after, I experienced my own resurrection day– the day I let the old die for the last time and embraced my Lord in my new life. Even though that day was nearly three decades ago, I still embrace new life each day.

When I open my eyes and turn off my alarm I can carry yesterday with me and allow it to cloud over the new day God has given me. Or I can allow yesterday to remain in the past and celebrate the new I have in front of me.

Each morning is my resurrection day. I celebrate the new mercies I am given, the love, and the grace I don’t deserve that come new from the hand of God Himself to me. It is the same opportunity with you Dear Ones. This truth of new days, a new you, a new opportunity, a new life, is available to you when you celebrate your own resurrection day. The day you ask Jesus to bury the bad, the ugly, and the wrongs at the foot of His cross– once and for all– that’s when your day is made new. When you are made new.

Precious child of the One True King, let it go. Let go of whatever happened yesterday that will prevent you from celebrating the new day. The disappointment, the sorrow, the pain, the words, all of it. Embrace the God who loves you and longs to fill your heart with His goodness and His mercies.

Make today your Resurrection Day.

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

