Gardening

This morning I weeded in my garden. It’s been a couple weeks and we’ve had some rain so my weeds were very tall. I pulled, hoed, and cultivated the soil around the plants so that my vegetables will get water and sunshine without competition. 

Every time I am in the garden my thoughts turn to the Gardens in the Bible; Eden and Gethsemene. As I pulled the weeds, I thought of how sins can seem so inconsequential when they are small and how much more difficult it can be to remove them when they go unchecked. 

When Adam and Eve were in the Garden of Eden I wondered how long they were there, enjoying the creation of God, enjoying His company in the cool of the day. How long were they there before the enemy made Eve doubt God’s plan. Were they there for months, weeks, or days? If Adam and Eve had truly been spending time with God each day, building their relationship with Him they would have known more about His heart for them and mankind. 

I figure it was just long enough to get a taste, but not to enjoy it all in depth. How else could the enemy get Eve to doubt God’s goodness?  I often wonder what this world would be like it she had trusted God instead of doubting Him. We won’t know the answer on this side of Heaven. 

As to my weeds, I started looking at them as plants of doubt. Every time I couldn’t see what God was doing in the middle of my struggles, every time I allowed my frustrations to replace His peace, I had cast the seeds of discontent into the garden. 

Every time I pull a weed out of the soil, I am allowing my soul to become uncluttered and uncrowded, so I can hear my Father calling my name in the cool of the day to come and walk with Him and build my relationship with Him. 

Dear Ones, what are you cultivating in your gardens? Discontent and doubt? Faith and peace? Maybe we need to all go back into our gardens and start pulling some weeds. 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in maturing in Christ, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

