digging in, digging out

Facing what you have been ignoring all along is one of the hardest parts of healing. It could be an addiction, a broken way of thinking, a broken way of relating to others. Whatever it is, just as it is during the 12-step process, we need to admit we cannot fix it on our own and we need God to remove this brokenness (see step 1 and step 6 of Alcoholics Anonymous 12 step process).

It is time to put on the work clothes, roll up the sleeves, and dig in to remove the things that aren’t working and are beyond duct tape repair. Talk with any serious gardener and they will tell you that all of the weeds need to be removed and the soil prepared for the best growth. The same is with our hearts. It is time to be freed from the pains and hurts we have carried for too long.

I watch people I love so much continuing to do the same things again and again while expecting those around them to change their ways to meet their brokenness. O Best Beloved, we cannot remain in a broken car and expect others to come and push us, just because we don’t want to get it fixed.

Precious Ones, let us speak honestly. These broken cars, toys, and lives we have aren’t working. There is no amount of duct tape and glue that will put them back together. And why would we want to try, when they were the wrong fit in the first place? It is time to dig out of the holes we have dug by trying to find ways to “make it work.” It is time to fess up; we are broken. Our ways aren’t working.

Getting angry, spouting on social media, using brutal words that shut down those who love you– these are the broken things that need to be removed. Instead, it’s time to be still. To be honest. To call out to God and ask for His holiness to fill you and light the way out of the holes. It’s time to dig in deeply to God’s word and allow Him to dig you out of the mess.

He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
    out of the mud and mire;
he set my feet on a rock
    and gave me a firm place to stand (Psalm 40:2).

When we allow God to come into the mess, He will be able to turn it into something beautiful. So many stories are told of when God was allowed in to dig us out and how He turned them into something beautiful and something good.

Many, Lord my God,
    are the wonders you have done,
    the things you planned for us.
None can compare with you;
    were I to speak and tell of your deeds,
    they would be too many to declare (Psalm 40:5)
.

As a young child I learned a song that has echoed in my heart for over four decades. I pray it will give you courage to put down the duct tape and hold up your hands to your Heavenly Father. He is waiting to lift you out and give you a firm place to stand.

Something beautiful, something good
All my confusion He understood
All I had to offer Him was brokenness and strife
But he made something beautiful of my life

If there ever were dreams
That were lofty and noble
They were my dreams at the start
And hope for life’s best were the hopes
That I harbor down deep in my heart
But my dreams turned to ashes
And my castles all crumbled, my fortune turned to loss
So I wrapped it all in the rags of life
And laid it at the cross. 

~Bill Gaither “Something Beautiful, Something Good”

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

