the things we leave behind

When we choose a life with Christ, we are choosing a life without things as well. The more candles that are added to my cake, the more I tend to look back and see where God has moved in me and through me. I realize that when I reach the end of my journey I want to see the way God was a part of each adventure, struggle, and celebration.

When it comes to my day to stand in front of Jesus, I pray the things I will leave behind will be positive character traits, decisions, and stories that reflect God’s work in my life. During the times when I have been a shrew- even if it was just in my heart, I pray I can point to the Holy Spirit and how He helped me break through the wrong thinking and create a spirit that supported and uplifted my husband.

I pray for my sons to know that following Jesus hasn’t always made sense. That there were times when decisions would have seemed absurd on paper, but from Heaven’s perspective it was the right choice. I pray those I meet will know that they were important, not an afterthought. My heart aches to focus on the second half of my life with new eyes and a renewed spirit to honor God by what grows inside of me and the fruit that matures in me.

It sounds noble and “spiritual” to say I want to seek God and honor Him. But I don’t want this to be any kind of lip service. My entire being needs God- the way our bodies need blood and oxygen to function. I want to leave behind the broken ways, the worn-out, foolish ways, and the frustration and anger that comes from trying to do things my way. I long to wake in the morning and reach for Bible, not my phone and Facebook or Instagram.

If I claim to follow God, then the things I leave behind would reflect that obedience. It would be the fruit of the Spirit that I leave behind. Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, Faithfulness, and Gentleness, and finally, Self-Control. If I am not moving to add to the Fruit in my life, then I am nothing more than stagnant, stinky water; wretched to smell and harmful to drink.

O Best Beloved, can you hear my heart? Does your heart cry for the same things? Join me in this pursuit. The pursuit of Philippians 4:8,  Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. The pursuit of picking up my Cross and laying down the things that are temporal. The pursuit to keep my soul and let the whole world go.

Let it be true for you. Let it be true for me.

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in maturing in Christ, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

