how dangerous are you?

As believers we are often told that we have the Power of God inside of us (greater is He that is in me, etc). We hear these words from the pulpit on Sunday and shout, “Amen” and nod our heads in agreement. But then, when we face difficulty and trials we forget what we just agreed; we forget the power we possess.

A wonderful friend of mine has always seemed to have the ear of God. When Maggie would pray, you knew God was listening. I found it both encouraging and frustrating. I knew if I really wanted to have God answer the prayer I would mention my request to Maggie. The frustration came when I felt like my prayers were bouncing off the ceiling. I believed my faith wasn’t dangerous or powerful enough to be heard.

In Acts 19:13-16 seven Jewish brothers were trying to cast out demons in the name of Jesus. The problem was, the demons weren’t afraid of the Jesus they claimed.  The brothers were trying to use a power they had heard of, not a power they knew personally. In the end, the brothers and ran screaming and naked from the place after being attacked by a demon-possessed man. Their faith was anything but dangerous.

Brothers and sisters, are we seeking to have a faith looks good on Sunday when we say, “Amen” and pass the offering plate? Or are we seeking the nitty gritty truth of the Gospel which includes reaching outside of our “approved” circles?

When the seven brothers of Sceva were attacked in Acts 19 the demon was clear, “Jesus I know, and I know about Paul, but who are you” (v. 15)? The brothers had been casting out demons by calling on the Jesus that Paul preached about, not the Jesus they knew. Where is the power? Where is the authority? Where is the command that comes from Heaven itself to leave and never return? It’s just a safe faith, one that can be picked up and put down as a person pleases. It is not a dangerous faith – capable of changing hearts, lives, and eternities.

Dear Ones, I admit that my faith is not always as strong as it can be, but I don’t ever want to have a faith that makes the demons scoff. I want the kind of faith and authority that comes from truly knowing and believing that God is moving in me and through me.

I want to be dangerous because my God is victorious. When we live this way we are living in the power of the Resurrection (Philippians 3:10). We have the ability to pray and have the devil flee (James 4:7). We are dangerous to the enemy and he is trying to make us think we can only have a safe faith.

O Best Beloved, let us remember the God we have placed our faith in- He is wild, He is strong, He can do more than we can ask or imagine (Ephesians 3:20)– and we need to start living and praying like it is true.

Who’s with me?

 

 

 

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

