bald tires

A friend of mine is a skeptic. His common response is, “Yeah, right, ok,” when a situation might turn around.  When news comes his comment is often, “That doesn’t surprise me.” How can a person live in this world and not see it with eyes of wonder and awe? Recently, my friend started to see a counselor for some other issues in his life. I find myself praying that the counselor will help my friend break down the old, unhealthy ways and open his eyes to Hope.

Bald tires are worn down from over use, misuse, and they can no longer do the very thing they were made to do; move the vehicle safely from one place to the other. The thing is, you can’t get traction to get out of the mud and mire when you have bald tires. Too many people in my circle are hitting the gas and spinning their tires without getting anywhere. In the end, they are just spraying the people around them with mud and wasting gas. No true progress is made.

When we buy the lies of the enemy, when we believe the negative press of others (all of which contradict what God says of us) we become worn down, brittle, easily broken. We’ve all see the remnants of tires on highways, the driver of the car is unable to continue on his or her journey until the tires are replaced. We must bring it to Christ. Only He can restore us and rebuild us.

When we accepted Christ we were given new tires, a new heart, overall a new body (2 Corinthians 5:17). It’s funny, I know that verse so well and yet, I forget that it is true about me, too. I am not the broken young woman who believed the lies told about me and to me. I am now a woman who knows the Truth, the healing, the grace and forgiveness that only comes from Jesus. If I were a car, I would be fully overhauled with new everything- including tires.

Dear Ones, how are your tires? Be honest. Is it time to replace them? Is it time to come to Christ and ask for Him to overhaul your heart and your life with His resurrection power? There is so much more to your story, so much more to explore. So many miles left in your journey with God, but in order to travel, you’ll have to change your tires. O Best Beloved, don’t let another day go by. Let’s move with God and leave the enemy behind us.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, maturing in Christ and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

