tired and tried

This week has been a long one. Nothing overly dramatic, just a lot of activities and chores to do and little sleep in between. I find myself on my knees in gratitude for Friday and willing myself to stay awake as the afternoon goes on. I don’t remember this kind of tired, at least not since the kids were little. I close my eyes and pray for protection and for wisdom, and for energy to finish well.

Mercy and grace, gentleness and kindness, along with patience and joy, have all been stretched, beaten upon, and tried this week as well. As I close my eyes to pray, I also ask for God to fill my cup one more time with the things that are of Him and to crowd out the things that aren’t. I know when I am tired that I will be less kind and merciful with others and myself. That isn’t the way I want to live.

I think of Jesus, when He was tired, when He was tried by the leaders of His day, how His very character remained true to His purposes. But, He also knew to disappear and spend time with God alone (Luke 5:16, Mark 1:35).  He knew that if He tried to make anything happen on His own accord without walking in union with God He would only be tired.

So Dear Ones, let us follow Jesus’ example. Let us get away to somewhere quiet on our own and sit at God’s feet. He promises that we can call on Him and He will hear us (Jeremiah 33:3, Matthew 7:7, 1 Thessalonians 5:24). Precious Child of God, when we are tired and souls feel tried and wanting, we are unable to care for others or ourselves well.

As I thought of this post today, “Cry Out To Jesus” by Third Day began playing on the radio. It was a sweet reminder of what I needed to do, I pray you will do the same. He will meet you where you are, every time.

There is hope for the helpless
Rest for the weary
And love for the broken heart
And there is grace and forgiveness
Mercy and healing
He’ll meet you wherever you are
Cry out to Jesus
Cry out to Jesus

(excerpt from “Cry Out To Jesus”)

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

