what’s that?

We have kittens that live on our property. They are adorable, entertaining, and constantly on the watch for something to explore. Whenever I come out of the house the kittens come to check out what I am doing. 

The thing about the kittens, however, is that even when they are eating something, they will still run to me to see if I have anything else that might be more interesting. The kittens, in their immaturity, do not know how to be content with what they have already.

When we are walking with Christ, we will find out that we have all that we need (2 Corinthians 9:8). We don’t have to be like the kittens running from one thing to another, always looking for the better thing. That kind of behavior is what led to Adam and Eve’s fall in the garden (Genesis 3).

For two years, my family and I have been slowly working on our house, making it into a home. It has been tedious, stressful, and exhausting; emotionally and physically. I have been tempted to look at others, whose homes are not under construction. I could become discontent with the blessing of our home, just because it doesn’t have a dishwasher or a furnace or something else. But, thankfully, the Holy Spirit has helped me catch the sneakiness of discontentment and doubt before it settles into my spirit.

The kittens’ curiosity to find the answer to, what’s that, is easily integrated into our own lives. We tend to watch our social media feeds and see the “happy” setting someone else appears in and find ourselves being unhappy with our own. I have also learned that watching too many romantic-comedy movies will cause me to be more critical of my own husband. Our desire to find the better thing, whatever that is, says we do not think what God is offering to us is enough.

Paul describes this contentment well in Philippians 4:10-12, (bold mine), I rejoiced greatly in the Lord that at last you renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you were concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.

Paul reminds me that God will care for me and I do not have to run around looking for what will only be temporal when compared to His eternal love for you and me. Dear Ones, let us find the anchor for our souls (Hebrews 6:19) to be enough for us. We are rooted in Him (Ephesians 3:16-18), we only need to reach out to Him when we begin to doubt we have enough (Philippians 4:19).

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in maturing in Christ, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

