If you’re happy and you know it . . .

I had the day off yesterday. I spent it working at home, doing household chores and tasks that needed to be caught up. Having made my To-Do list, I began with collecting laundry, changing the sheets, cleaning the bathroom. You know, the glorious tasks of home care.

 

As my day progressed, my list grew shorter and shorter until only two things remained; the garden and mowing the grass. My garden is small, but has been quite a successful experience this year. Especially with our cucumbers.

We’ve had nearly two bushels of cucumbers so far and many more are still growing on the vine. As I picked the vegetables, I found myself humming. This is my spirit’s way of signaling contentment, much like when my grandfather used to whistle as he went around the farm doing his daily chores.

Most of my tunes are nonsensical, sometimes they are hymns. The reason I am humming is because I am happy. More than that, I am filled with joy.

Best Beloved, how do you know you are content? Are your body and your mind finally at rest? Do you daydream when you are content? What steps can you take to find your contentment? Our world wants us to run and chase things all the time. Our God tells us to, Be still and know that I am God (Psalm 46:10).

I don’t know if you can carry a tune in a bucket or not, but maybe you will find yourself singing or humming when your spirit is at rest. If so, join me, we can harmonize together about our God.

I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free, His eye is on the sparrow and I know He’s watching me.

(Lyrics by Rollo Dilworth and Hal Leonard)

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in maturing in Christ, reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

