torches, lampposts, and candles

In my walk I have studied under different teachers, male and female, on Sundays, Wednesdays, at Tuesday Bible studies, each one a treasure and a blessing to my heart. At the same time, I have found that these teachers have impacted me in different ways.

Some were candles in my life, lighting up a dark place, helping me to see things in new ways. The person who led me to the Lord, some of the first people who taught me about Jesus come to mind. Their touch in my life took away my inability to see and illuminated the areas where I have experienced fear. These candles have given me comfort and reminded me that I am not fully alone.

Other teachers and leaders I have learned under have been lampposts in my life. I think of women who have touched my heart, including Corrie Ten Boom, Elisabeth Elliot, and my very dear mentor, Carol B. They have been consistently shining truths, never changing or moving in their beliefs. I know I can come back to what they have said before and get my perspective again as a believer. This lamppost is also my Bible. It is always lighting my path and giving me the correct orientation to where I am walking.

Then there are others who have been a torch in my life. They shine brightly, but they are also moving. They are leading the way and directing us to see the world with new eyes. The Bible is not changing, but there are new ways it is used to challenge and bless us as we continue on our journey. I think of Beth Moore, Priscilla Shirer, Jen Hatmaker, and Shauna Niequist who write and speak to challenge us to keep going. To embrace the world we live in, but remember that it is not our home. That our circles of influence are bigger than we think and more important than we realized.

It is with these torchbearers that I find myself reflecting about my own life. What impact have I had in someone’s life? Have I hidden my faith when someone could have used a candle to see a way out of the dark? Was the Faith I was teaching true to Scripture or was it my own cheap imitation? Then comes the question I sometimes whisper to myself, what if God called me to be a torchbearer? What would I do? Would I embrace it or run away from it?

Dear Ones, what are you? A candle? A lamppost? A torch? The only way we can figure out what we are called to do is to seek God’s perfect direction. He will lead us to be exactly where we are supposed to be, our job is to be obedient to the call.

No one lights a lamp and hides it in a clay jar or puts it under a bed. Instead, they put it on a stand, so that those who come in can see the light (Luke 8:16).

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in maturing in Christ, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

