Waking up

I leaned hard into my faith when my ex husband and I separated. I knew God was all I had, He knew my past, present, and future. He would be faithful to me on this journey.

I would lean into Him in my day to day life, all the unknown decisions I would have to make, providing in ways I could not have imagined.

One of the parts of that new life was waking up with a song in my head every morning. Often a praise song or hymn, I would draw encouragement and wisdom from during the day.

After nearly a year, the songs seemed to fade. I didn’t notice them getting softer and softer.

At first I dismissed it, figuring it was something I had for that season. Then I started to find fault with myself, that God was disappointed in me and He took my morning wake up song away.

In the past few weeks I have been hearing songs again. Just snippets of them, faint and brief, enough to make me strain to make sure I really did hear it. I have begun to smile again, a secret smile, that God is still here.

My faith has been pretty embattled in the recent past. My doubt was creeping in farther than I realized. Hearing the songs again, has helped me turn away the doubt.

It reminded of a chorus by the Gaithers I listened to in my childhood.

What’s that I hear, I still hear that music
Day after day. that song goes on.
For once you found the source of music
You’ll always hear it. God gave the song.

When I hear the first notes of that song, I am suddenly 8 years old again. It prompts my heart to remember that I am still a child of God. Still His daughter, precious and prized and valued and loved and treasured above all things.

It’s like waking up to Christmas morning and presents around the tree. I am not cast out for my struggles, I am actually being pulled in closer to Him.

Best Beloved, have you been lulled into believing you aren’t worth Gods time, His love, His forgiveness and mercy? Fight the lies. We, as believers, are His children. We are worth His Son’s death. He loves us, Dear Ones. Don’t let the enemy persuade you otherwise, he doesn’t love you.

It’s time to wake up, don’t hit snooze any longer.

In His Amazing Love, oxoxox

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waking up

  1. Nancy Anderson says:

    Thank you for this lovely reminder! Some years ago, I was feeling so spiritually dry and disappointed in myself. There was no particular reason that I could point to, to explain this feeling. But I was sure that if I was disappointed with myself, that surely God was disappointed with me too. I was reading through the Bible that year, and my daily reading took me to Zephaniah, where it says that God will “rejoice over you with singing.” I stopped in my tracks- “Oh Lord, is this how you really feel towards me? I’m so dry, so hard, so tired.” As I began my day, there was a melody in the back of my mind, floating about. I didn’t pay much attention to it at first, as I had much to do. But as the day went on, the melody became more insistent. As I stopped to think about it, I realized it was the tune to Huey Lewis’ song, “Happy to be Stuck with You.” Suddenly, I thought about the words to the song, and it hit me like a brilliant patch of sunlight through dense cloud cover! It was like I could hear the Almighty Himself chuckling!! “REALLY??? LORD IS THAT YOU?? Are you REALLY happy to be stuck with me??” “YES!! came the resounding reply!! You’re MINE!! And regardless of your mood or circumstance, I’m glad you’re my child! I’m happy to be stuck with you!” It tickled me then- and it tickles me now, to think of the Almighty, singing a Huey Lewis and the News song!! But He knew just what I needed that day, and how to bring cheer to my heart, and remind me of the Truth. I haven’t thought about that in a long time- but your beautiful post reminded me of it, and I’m warmed by it once again. Thank you for blog- it’s such a blessing!

Leave a comment