New eyes

October is breast cancer awareness month here in the States. It is a bittersweet month to me when I see “pink for the cause.” Breast cancer has impacted many friends and family in my life and I cannot see the color without thinking of them and their battles.

I think of a high school classmate, whose mom fought and won her battle. But I never knew she was fighting it at the time, until years later, when she and I served together in ministry. How did I miss that classmate’s pain and worry as he wondered if his mom would beat cancer?

I think of my dear friend and coworker. She fought with tenacity and courage for six years, only to lose her battle, leaving a grieving husband and two daughters to figure out how to go on without her.

I think of another friend. Who had a deep, infectious smile and loved her Lord, husband, and children so much. She fought valiantly, trying different treatments. Even sending out witty messages during her search like, “Eenie, meenie, minee, moe, catch a chemo by the toe, if it doesn’t work, then let it go, eenie, meenie, minee, moe.” Her fight was lost and she left behind three small children, a husband, and an adoring brother, who remember her every day for her sacrificial choices.

My own mother-in-law battled cancer twice, winning both times; electing radical surgery to prevent a third round.

I think of theses battles and the ones going on today. Those who are hurting, in pain, in fear, worrying how to make it through the next hour, let alone the next day. It overwhelms my heart.

In 2 Kings 6:17 there was a servant who was afraid when he saw the king’s horsemen and chariots surrounding the city waiting to capture Elisha. Elisha knew what the servant did not and so Elisha prayed. ” LORD, please open his eyes and let him see.” So the LORD opened the servant’s eyes. He looked and saw that the mountain was covered with horses and chariots of fire all around Elisha. The servant saw with new eyes, what could be seen from Heaven. God’s army far outnumbered the king’s army.

As I see pink this month, as you see pink, pray for those in battle– with cancer, depression, grief, worry, doubt, or fear. Pray for them to have new eyes to see the things that can only be seen from Heaven.

CHRIS TOMLIN –
WHOM SHALL I FEAR (GOD OF ANGEL ARMIES)

You hear me when I call
You are my morning song
Though darkness fills the night
It cannot hide the light

Whom shall I fear

You crush the enemy
Underneath my feet
You are my sword and shield
Though troubles linger still

Whom shall I fear

I know who goes before me
I know who stands behind me

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

The one who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

My strength is in Your name
For You alone can save
You will deliver me
Yours is the victory

Whom shall I fear
Whom shall I fear

I know who goes before me
I know who stands behind me

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

The one who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

And nothing formed against me shall stand
You hold the whole world in Your hands
I’m holding on to Your promises

You are faithful
You are faithful
You are faithful

I know who goes before me
I know who stands behind me

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

The one who reigns forever
He is a friend of mine

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

The God of angel armies
Is always by my side

Amen.

About gretchenr17

Wife, mother, daughter, sister, friend. Writer, farmer, fellow sojourner... at every turn I learn a bit more about God's wild mercies.
This entry was posted in growing pains, reflections, Walking by Faith and not by sight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment